2021, series of 15 soundtracks,
38 min 40 sec

During this time of the global pandemic, many of us have at least in part rediscovered forests and other natural ecosystems populated by a variety of other-than-human agents. These lively environments have again proven to be an ever so welcome extension to our homes. An outside to the confines of anxiety where we can exercise, relax or reflect. Imbuing us with a sense of relief, stimulation and companionship.

X Steps Through A Forest is a sound piece in the form of an experiential audio guide. Interspersed with choreographic anecdotes, the work consists of multiple short soundtracks that as a series of movement routines lead the listener on a journey through the forest. Guiding one’s awareness towards variety of movements and physicalities that transpire both within our environment as in our own bodies.

The listeners are encouraged to listen to the work during a walk through their neighboring forest. But also, for those who do not have access to such an environment. With hopes that these mnemonic evocations help transpose oneself into the forest from wherever one is.

Concept and text: Nina Djekić
Voice: Weixin Quek Chong
Sound design: Tini Aliman

Available at: